IDINA COLBIE INDIA

SHE-LOGY: Women in Music

Ok, I know I just did a round-up of this week’s She-logy posts, but I have this quirk where I don’t like odd numbers. I need to round up my posts to 12. 🙂 So here I leave you to your weekend with these songs!

IDINA MENZEL. “Defying Gravity”.

I called this my national anthem ~5 years ago, and it was the song constantly in my mind when I decided to “trust my instincts, close my eyes and leap“. I took a long leave of absence from work, throwing away an opportunity for a promising role and a chance to get promoted. It was worth it, and I thank Idina for her powerful delivery of this song!


COLBIE CAILLAT. “Try”.

My daughter loves this song, and I’m very glad because it has an awesome message for girls/women and self-esteem. And the song has a positive vibes to it that you can expect from the artist behind the happy “Bubbly” song.

Why should you care, what they think of you
When you’re all alone, by yourself
Do you like you? Do you like you?


INDIA ARIE. “I Am Not My Hair”.

Her name is synonymous to uplifting songs, especially for women. I love this particular song because it makes me think about what I am allowing to define me. I am not my hair, I am not this skin, I am not your expectations, I am a soul that lives within.

All of them are Grammy-award winning artists.


SHE-LOGY is a blog project open to everyone who is interested to celebrate women this whole month of March. If you’re reading this, I extend that invitation to you to contribute post/s about the women you’d like to honor. You can email me at silverliningmama@gmail.com. Thank you for reading this.

Thoughts?