ANNE BARBARA LIANE

SHE-LOGY: Celebrating female authors, written by guest blogger Lorie Schaefer, who also wrote another She-logy post to celebrate her favorite children’s book authors. Check out her blog — nvlorie.

Thank you, Lorie, for yet another beautiful set of women, and for introducing us to your favorite female authors!

Anne Tyler has been on my list the longest. A colleague introduced me to her with Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant and The Accidental Tourist back in the 1980s. I remember one summer in which I methodically worked my way through all the Tyler books on the library shelf. Her books are gentle and human. The characters are real and grapple with everyday life in oddly familiar ways. All the conflicts are small, intimate and very personal. Her most recent, A Spool of Blue Thread is no exception. Digging to America follows two very different families who adopt Chinese orphan girls and meet at the airport as they meet their new daughters. As years go by, each family feels lucky and is certain they got the better, smarter, more talented child. How human is that?

 

I began reading Barbara Kingsolver in the 1990s while participating in a course offered by the Northern Nevada Writing Project. Her early work, both fiction and nonfiction kept me coming back for more, but The Poisonwood Bible planted her firmly in my favorites. She spent years researching, writing and rewriting. The voices are so clear it takes no more than a sentence or two to identify who is speaking. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle details her family’s efforts to eat local. It will make you question (and maybe regret) every food choice you have ever made.

 

Liane Moriarty is the newest addition to my list of favorites. My book club read The Husband’s Secret and I quickly moved on to read What Alice Forgot, Big Little Lies, and The Last Anniversary. All three offer modern, suspenseful, domestic dramas set in Australia and plenty of secrets, lies and deception.


SHE-LOGY is a blog project open to everyone who is interested to celebrate women this whole month of March. If you’re reading this, I extend that invitation to you to contribute post/s about the women you’d like to honor. You can email me at silverliningmama@gmail.com. Thank you for reading this.